Teesside University’s Journalism Awards 2022

Winners of the 2022 Journalism Awards held at Mima.

TALENTED  media students have received prizes at Teesside University’s  annual Journalism Awards.

The event, which was hosted by Helen Dalby, Audience & Content Director, Reach North East & Yorkshire, took place at the Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art as part of Teesside University’s final degree show.

Journalism students received awards based on exceptional work produced during the past academic year.

The winners receive a week’s work experience at the company which sponsors the individual award.

Winners were commended for the skills learnt on the BA (Hons) Journalism; BA(Hons) Sports Journalism and BA (Hons) Public Relations and Digital Communications degrees

Among the awards were Broadcast Journalist of the Year, Best Sport Feature Writer and Blogger of the Year.

Prizes included a number of work placements with Teesside Live, The Hartlepool Mail along with work experience at BBC Tees; Bauer Media and ITV News.

A number of special academic awards were also given out, including the award for the best degree Final Projects.

Award’s host Helen was promoted to digital editor in 2012 and was closely involved in the award-winning digital newsroom transformation which was piloted in Newcastle and Teesside in 2014 before being rolled out nationally.

Helen was made editor of ChronicleLive in 2016, and in 2019 became Editor-in-chief for the region, overseeing the newsrooms in Newcastle and Middlesbrough

She’s currently Audience and Content Director for Reach in the North East, Yorkshire and Humber, as well as leading Reach’s partnerships with the BBC Local Democracy Reporting Scheme and with Meta and the NCTJ for our community reporters.

Paul Bailey, Course Leader for Journalism in the School of Arts and Creative Industries, said: “These awards recognise the hard work and excellent calibre of our current journalism students and the students were thrilled to be awarded their prizes by Helen.”

“I would like to thank all of the media organisations who generously contributed prizes to this celebration of our students’ achievements.”


Below is a list of the winners

Vlogger of the Year – sponsored by Teesside University Communications and Development

Winner: Holly Havelock

Content Producer of the Year  – Sponsored by Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art (mima)

Winner: Tyler Atkinson

Feature Writer of the Year –  sponsored by The Northern Echo newspaper

Winner: Scott McDonald.

Multimedia Journalist of the Year – sponsored by Teesside Live

Winner: Martyna Dydyk

Community Reporter of the Year, sponsored by The Hartlepool Mail newspaper

Winner: Alicia Cuthbertson

Audio Journalist of the Year, sponsored by Bauer Media

Winner: Chris Cassidy

Video Journalist of the Year, sponsored by UK Local TV

Winners: Alfie Lambert and Holly Havelock

Digital Communications Student of Year, sponsored by Harvey and Hugo PR Agency

Winner: Carina Gama


Ali Brownlee Sports Coverage Award –sponsored by BBC Tees

Winner: Chris Cassidy

Creative Communications Campaign – sponsored by Durham County Cricket Club.

Winner: Jamie Smith

Public Relations Student of the Year – sponsored by DTW PR Agency

Winner: Sarah Peacock. 

Broadcast Journalist of the Year – sponsored by ITV News

Winner: Charlotte Simpkin

Portfolio of the Year – sponsored by Great North Air Ambulance Service

Winner: Sarah Peacock

Sports Feature of the Year – Sponsored by MFC Foundation

Winner: Tyler Atkinson.

Best Newcomer – Sponsored by Teesside University

Winner: Gemma Woolston

Best Final Project – Sponsored by Teesside University

Winners: Sarah Peacock and Martyna Dydyk




Skip to content